Conversations

Delete a conversation

Deletes all data and metadata for a certain conversationId. Deleting a conversation can't be undone. More specifically, the following happens:

  • You delete all metadata of the conversation.
  • You delete all messages in the conversation.
  • You remove all participants from the conversation.
  • You remove the conversation from all participants' inboxes.
  • Active TalkJS chat UIs display a "Chat not found"-message, localized to the specified local language.

Remove participants data

When you delete a conversation, users who were participants of that conversation continue to exist.

While currently you can't completely delete a user, you can use the 'Create or update a user'-operation to remove any personally identifiable information associated with a user.

To automate the process of removing user data, use the Anonymize user data script from the TalkJS examples GitHub repository.

delete/v1/{appId}/conversations/{conversationId}

Request

Path parameters

appIdstring required
Example:abcd1234

A unique identifier of your TalkJS app. You can find your app ID on the Settings page of your dashboard.

conversationIdstring required
Example:0123456789abcdef

A unique identifier of a conversation.

Response

Empty response

object required

Empty response

Changes

No recorded changes to this operation across all 1 revision of this API.