Users

Deletes a user. By default, this operation fails if the user still owns any content. To proceed, move their owned content first, or use the force parameter to delete the user and their files.

If the enterprise has a retention policy, including a retired one, or a legal hold that is not fully released, you can't delete a user who owns content, even with force. Transfer the user's content first by using the Transfer owned folders endpoint.

delete/users/{user_id}

Request

  • Base URL
    https://api.box.com/2.0
  • URL
    https://api.box.com/2.0/users/{user_id}
  • Auth
    OAuth 2
    Authorization code: https://account.box.com/api/oauth2/authorize
    Token URL: https://api.box.com/oauth2/token

Path parameters

user_idstring required

The ID of the user.

Query parameters

notifyboolean

Whether the user will receive email notification of the deletion.

forceboolean

Specifies whether to delete the user even if they still own files.

If the user owns content and the enterprise has a retention policy, including a retired one, or a legal hold that is not fully released, setting force to true doesn't delete the user. The request returns a 403 error, and you must transfer the user's content before deleting the user.

Response

Removes the user and returns an empty response.

Changes

    • warning

      added the new unprocessable_entity enum value to the response property for the response status

    • info

      added the non-success response with the status